This is me(dia)

Do I control the media? Or does the media control me?

Earlier this year I saw my great-Aunt perform in a local concert. I dutifully turned off my mobile phone prior to the commencement of the show. During the intermission I pulled it out again, to distract me from the masses of grey-haired penguins who smelt like knitting and figs, shuffling past me to get first dibs on the complimentary bickies. I was sitting down, scrolling through my news feed not bothering anybody, when one fine specimen of age waddled up to my family, walking stick in tow. He had the nerve to announce it was a ‘disgrace’ that people my age can’t last an hour without ‘those darn things’. Well, Eustace McClean (I mean that’s probably not your name, but I gotta give you a reference point), I think the way your dentures rattle when you talk is a ‘disgrace’, but I kept that opinion to myself (and my twitter feed).

meme.jpg
Source: Facebook

Right now I’m living in this completely crazy world. Half of the population think the media is becoming me. I can’t live without my phone and the good lord knows that without Facebook, my heart would simply cease to beat. The other half tell me I am becoming the media. I am the innovator, the controller, the user. So who really has the power, the media or me? I suppose I’m still trying to figure that one out. 

A media space is an environment which exists between people in every element except the physical. I may be sitting in a dusty hall at the intermission of a local play, but as soon as I turn on my phone I am in a workplace media space talking to my boss, I am in a social setting with my friends. Think of this on a global level and the possibilities are endless.

If you want to know why I came here and why I stay here, it’s because I’m choosing to embrace the media. Amazing things happen in this world and I want in on the industry that does that. My smartphone allows me to do so many things I would not be able to do without it; in that sense it has become a part of my identity, but I don’t see that as a bad thing.

The media has integrated heavily into our lives over the past decade and I think it’s incredible. At this point I’m gonna let the haters hate and stay on top of the media wave. Enjoy your no frills digestive, Eustace, and I’ll catch you on the flip side.

Over and out,

Claire

Phone Images: 1 2 3

Tell me what you think?

